Working together to strengthen and support noxious weed management efforts in Montana.

Standing Committee & Work Groups

All members of the MWCA are always welcome to serve on any committee or work group of interest. Minutes from all MWCA committee and work groups can be found on our website library in MWCA Minutes. Contact Becky Kington for information on how to volunteer or with questions.

2017 MWCA Committees & Work Groups

Standing Committees

Executive Committee Purpose: Except for the power to amend the Articles of Incorporation and bylaws, the Executive Committee shall have all the powers and authority of the board of directors in the intervals between meetings of the board of directors, and is subject to the direction and control of the full board. Amber Burch (President), Jill Allen (VP), Kellieann Morris (Past President), Clay Petersen (Treasurer), and Becky Kington (ED)

Finance Committee – Purpose: to provide financial oversight for the organization including budgeting, financial and fund raising goal setting, creation and monitoring of internal controls and accountability policies.   Clay Petersen (C), Amber Burch, Jill Allen, Kellieann Morris

Governance Committee – Purpose: To provide direction and governance of the MWCA board of directors, to actively solicit qualified, engaged and enthusiastic individuals to serve on the board, and to provide quality professional training for board members as opportunities arise. Kellieann Morris (C), Amber Burch, Jill Allen

Public Policy Committee – Purpose: To help the MWCA create a system of resolutions and public policy and work on creating resolutions as the need arises. Core Group members appointed by Amber: Kellieann Morris(C), Amber Burch, Jill Allen, Pam Converse, Amy Adler, Karen Laitala, John Moodry, Jesse Scott, Dan Dobler, Dave Burch & Becky Kington.

Standing Work Groups

Annual Conference Work Group Purpose: To plan for and help prepare for the MWCA Annual Conference and awards ceremony. Jill Allen (C), Becky Kington (C)

Awards Work GroupPurpose: To develop awards criteria and the nomination and voting process for awards nominees. The chair will handle ordering awards and producing the awards ceremony at the annual conference. Kellieann Morris (C)

Continuity Planning Work Group – Purpose: To create a succession plan for the ED of MWCA. Tracy Mosley (C)

Coordinator Support Work Group – Purpose:  To encourage professionalism, and provide operational and educational direction for Weed District Coordinators. Jesse Scott (C), Dale Butori, Stone Tihista, Pam Barnett, Lyle Scott, John Moodry and Christian Lehnert

Direction Work GroupPurpose: To reevaluate the mission and objectives of MWCA, to evaluate membership levels and basically review what the Association is about and where it needs to be headed. Kaaren Robbins (C), Jill Allen, Trent Brusseau, Amber Burch, Glen Colclough, Sean Dickens, Shantell Frame-Martin, Jim Gordon, Becky Kington, Jane Mangold, John Semple, Pam Schwend, Jesse Scott, Stone Tihista, Steve Tyrrel

Education Work Group – Purpose:  To encourage educational events, training, publications, and other activities to further the knowledge and expertise of MWCA members and the public. Christy Schram (C)

Integrated Weed Management Work Group – Purpose: To encourage the development, research, and demonstration of sustainable, integrated weed management strategies. Karen Laitala (C)

Publications Editing Work Group – Purpose: To review and provide grammatical and editorial edits for publications produced by MWCA. Becky Kington (C)


To see a full description of the committees, please see our policy manual.